Beginning Again…Again.

Today was the first day of my new job as a Claims Adjuster at GEICO.  My husband already works there, also as a Claims Representative, and I’m super excited that I now get to bother him whenever I feel like it!

So I work for the Gecko now.  This means that I will soon have all kinds of gecko related paraphernalia, and I will obnoxiously try to convince everyone that they should switch to GEICO.  Awesome, I know.

We had to turn in a paper today that listed all of our work history for the past 5 years.  For some people, that would be easy.  It took me an hour to fill out that paper.  When all was said and done, I counted 13 jobs over the last 5-6 year period, since right before I started college.  It’s true that 10 of them were part-time or summer jobs that overlapped with my studies, but 13 is still a pretty large number.  That’s a lot of new beginnings.  A lot of new people to meet, a lot of new-hire orientations to sit through.

And here I am, beginning again.  There’s something exciting about beginning, about starting over.  You can remake yourself in a new place, to new people, doing a new job.  There’s new opportunities to explore!  The only issue with starting over in a new place is that you will still be there.  New places don’t magically make new people.  What’s on the inside stays there no matter where you find yourself.

Sometimes, it takes more effort to stick with it than it does to begin again.
Sometimes, a new beginning is just an escape from an old new beginning.
Sometimes that’s okay.
But sometimes you have to stop beginning, and start the middle.

No book would ever be written if the author only wrote beginnings.
No music could be heard on the radio if the composers only composed the first few stanzas.
No marriages would ever work if during the ceremony the vows never got past “I.

It’s not just “I.”  It’s “I do.”  And it’s not just “I do.”  It’s “I continue to do.”  If you stop doing, then all that’s left is the “I.”  The “I” isn’t much good alone.  Not in a marriage.  Not in a job.  Not in life.  It has to be accompanied by the “do.”

But what about when you don’t want to do anymore?
When you’re tired?
Grumpy.
Hurt,
or lonely?
What if you just want to give it up and begin again someplace else where no one knows you?

Then you call a friend.  Ecclesiastes 4:9-10 states, “You are better off to have a friend than to be all alone, because then you will get more enjoyment out of what you earn.  If you fall, your friend can help you up!  But if you fall without having a friend nearby, you are really in trouble” (CEV).

Having a friend means being able to write the middle of our story.  And Proverbs 18:24 says that “There’s a friend who sticks closer than a brother” (NIV).  A friend that’s there 24/7, 365 days a year.  A friend that won’t care how late it is when you call, or how long the conversation is going to be.  A friend that has an extra comfy shoulder to lean on, and won’t mind if you snot all over it.  Plus, he’s capable of giving you a zillion cheezburgers if that’s what you need.

Okay, that’s a little metaphorical.  You probably won’t need a zillion cheezburgers when you’re sad, unless you happen to be a lolcat.  But it doesn’t matter what you need.  This friend can meet that need, and even more importantly, he’ll be there for you through the whole thing.  Who’s this friend?  It’s Jesus.  Jesus can give you the strength to face anything (Phillipians 4:13).

Even if facing “anything” just means sticking it out a little longer.
Standing strong, instead of turning and running away.
Writing the middle, instead of writing a new beginning…
…again.

Leave a Reply

